Hampton University
Hampton Univeristy Scripps Howard School of Journalism and Communications Inducts Newest Member into Kappa Tau Alpha Honor Society
05/17/2017 - #207
HAMPTON, Va. -- Thirteen students from the Scripps Howard School of Journalism and Communications were inducted into the prestigious Kappa Tau Alpha (KTA) Honor Society on Friday, April 21 including six seniors and seven juniors.
Admission into the society is by invitation only, reserved for those students in the top 10 percent of their respective classes. The 13 joined eight current members.
KTA is the seventh oldest honor society in the United States and was founded in 1910 at the University of Missouri, the first school of journalism in the world. Inductees received a certificate and pin. Graduating seniors also received a medallion and honor cords. Inductees recited a pledge to the highest ideals of journalism and mass communication and to free speech, skill, honesty, fairness, accuracy and truth.
 Senior inducted include: Ayanna Fields, Joseph Gaither, Moriah McLain, Arriana McLymore, Hayley Myles and Briana Oates. Juniors inducted include: Alexis Anderson, Chental Song Bembry, Alexandra Carmon, Ania Cotton, Jarrell Dillard, Maya Gray and Kandis Mascall. Current members include: Krystyn Beecher, Sydney Bland, Ricci Bostick, Nyaa Ferary, Malik Jones, Darryn Mumphrey, Christina Powell and Aliah Williamson. The KTA advisor is Prof. Lynn Waltz.


©2018 Hampton University
Hampton, VA 23668 : 757.727.5000