Hampton University
HU's Journalism and Communications School to Host Workshops, Gala for 10-Year Anniversary
10/15/2012 - #23

Hampton Va. – Hampton University’s Scripps Howard School of Journalism and Communications (SHSJC) will commemorate its 10-year anniversary Thursday, Oct. 18. The day’s events will include, student career workshops with E.W. Scripps Company President and CEO Richard Boehne presenting the keynote address, a Hall of Fame induction ceremony and luncheon and an anniversary fundraising gala in the “Penthouse” of the Harbour Centre in downtown Hampton.

Student Career Workshops

This event will begin at 9 a.m. in the Robert P. Scripps Auditorium at the Scripps Howard School. Boehne will present the keynote address, “Transitioning to Digital.” Following the address, attendees will participate in a series of workshop sessions focused on media innovation, political journalism and brand management. Students will also participate in a Scripps Howard Foundation contest titled, "I Want to Work for Scripps." Based on the portfolios, work experience and congeniality of the contestants, a winner will be selected to receive a $500 scholarship and an internship opportunity.

Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony & Luncheon  

The induction into the SHSJC Hall of Fame will be held from 12:30 to 2:30 p.m. at the new HU Dining Hall, which officially opened Sept. 8.

HU graduates and faculty who have earned high distinction in the field of journalism and communications will join the school's hall of fame. Inductees include: Tony Brown, SHSJC dean emeritus and producer of “Tony Brown’s Journal;” Sheila R. Solomon, veteran newspaper editor and recruiter; Debra A. Miller, global marketing communications expert; Allison Seymour, Fox5 morning news anchor, Washington, D.C.; Robert Sengstacke Abbott (posthumous), founder/publisher/editor, Chicago Defender; Spencer Christian, television personality and former weather reporter for “Good Morning America” on ABC News.

Anniversary Fundraising Gala

The Gala will be a special evening, filled with amazing food, signature drinks and desserts, live entertainment, and a 360 degree view of the entire Hampton Roads area from the top floor “Penthouse” at the Hampton University Harbour Centre in downtown Hampton.

Several members of the newly announced Scripps Howard Board of Advisors are expected to attend. The gala is open to the public and ticket prices are $100 for alumni from the 2002-2012 graduating classes, $150 for the general public and $1,400 for a table of 10. For information about the events, sponsorship opportunities or to purchase tickets to the Gala, please call (757) 727-5405 or visit the registration website.


Members of the Scripps Howard School’s Board of Advisors are:


RICHARD BOEHNE – President and CEO, E.W. Scripps Co.

SUBHASH CHANDRA – Founder and Chairman, Essel Group

ROBERT CHRISTIE – Senior VP, Corporate Communications, New York Times Co.

BARBARA CIARA – Anchor and Managing Editor, WTKR NewsChannel 3, Norfolk, Virginia

MARK CUBAN – Chairman, HDNet; Owner, NBA’s Dallas Mavericks

ED DANDRIDGE – CEO, National Association of Investment Companies

MICHAEL DAYS – Managing Editor, The Philadelphia Inquirer?

PAT FORD – Global Vice-Chairman, Burson-Marsteller

SIMON GILLHAM – Senior Executive VP, Communications, Vivendi Corp.

MICHELLE HORD – WHITE – VP, Talent Development & Pipeline Programs, NBC Universal


SHEILA JOHNSON – Co-Founder, Black Entertainment TV; CEO, Salamander Hospitality

ROB KING – Senior VP and Editor-in-Chief; ESPN Digital Media

JOE LOCKHART – VP, Global Communications, Facebook

PHYLLIS MCGRADY – Senior VP, Creative Development, ABC News

MICHELLE MILLER – Correspondent. CBS News

ZENIA MUCHA – Executive VP, Chief Communications Officer, Walt Disney Co.

JAMES MURDOCH – Deputy Chief Operating Officer, News Corp.

NORMAN PEARLSTINE – Chief Content Officer, Bloomberg L.P.

MIKE PHILIPPS – President and CEO, Scripps Howard Foundation

DAVID RHODES – President, CBS News

DESIREE ROGERS – CEO, Johnson Publishing Co.

HARRY SMITH – Correspondent, NBC News

PAUL STEIGER – CEO and President, ProPublica

LAURA THOMAS, CEO, XO Communications

JIM WIATT – Strategic Advisor to AOL; former CEO of William Morris Agency Inc.

MICHAEL WOLF – Founder & Managing Director, Activate


©2018 Hampton University
Hampton, VA 23668 : 757.727.5000