The Student Connection
The Student Connection

The Student Connection

Faculty Spotlight

HU Faculty honored at Winter Educational Staff Institute

by Yuri Milligan

Hampton University President Dr. William R. Harvey greeted the Hampton University faculty at the 2016 Winter Educational Staff Institute on Jan. 4. The theme for this year's institute is "Preserving THE Standard of Excellence at Hampton University with Exceptionality & Innovation in Academic Programs and Research."

At the Institute, seven faculty members received the Academic Excellence Faculty Award. The honorees were recognized for their efforts by Harvey, Executive Vice President/Provost Dr. JoAnn W. Haysbert and their respective Deans.

Each dean developed a set of criteria for the selection from his/her respective academic unit. The selected professors demonstrate innovation in teaching, the ability to motivate students, maintenance of high academic requirements and standards and the ability to keep pace with current theories and practices in his/her disciplines.

The recipients of the award are:

  • Janelle Davenport, School of Business
  • Dr. Stephanie Johnson, School of Education and Human Development
  • Mason M. Andrews, School of Engineering and Technology
  • Dr. Carol Davis, Scripps Howard School of Journalism and Communications
  • Dr. Zina McGee, School of Liberal Arts
  • Dr. David Ombengi, School of Pharmacy
  • Bruce Chittenden, School of Science